A Recipe

Oh the holidays.

This last week I’ve felt pulled in every direction all at once. There’s work. Family. Knitting (oh my god am I behind on the gifts.) Shopping. Fighting to get photos from our wedding photographer. Trying to be a helpful spouse while Eric works on his album. And preparing us both for our trip home since he’s been in the studio til the wee hours of every morning. Last night alone I crocheted a sock and did 7 loads of laundry (I know, how’d that happen, there are only two of us).

And then, of course as it always happens in these situations, I caught a cold. Crap.

Something had to give. It was of course, the blog. But that’s okay. Today I have a treat for you. 

Last weekend in the midst of a slew of holiday parties, including one at my friend Kristen’s, I tasted this amazing drink. It’s Swedish glug and it’s delicious. With the rainy weather here in LA that’s due to head back our way early next week. I suggest you try it out! I’m hoping to make it for my family’s get together next Saturday.

GLUG

 

8 Cloves

1 Cinnamon Stick

Seeds from 8 Cardamoms

Orange Peel

1 pkg Almonds

1 pkg Seedless Raisins

Water, just to cover

1 gal Port Wine

1 cup Sugar

1 qt Whiskey

 

Mix cloves, cinnamon stick, cardamom,

orange peel, almonds, raisins and water.

Boil ingredients 4 to 5 minutes.  Add wine

and bring to a boil.  Add sugar.  Add whiskey.

Burn for a few minutes.

 

(Cardamoms are hard to find, so don’t worry about including them.  I used just a half package of Almonds and a half package of Raisins and that seemed to be enough.  I also only used ½ cup sugar, but you can put in a whole cup if you want.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Recipe

  1. Glug…is that the sound you make when you drink said concoction? It sounds like the perfect warmer upper for this cold weather.

  2. Ava

    Oh, I’d forgotten about glug! Thanks a million . . . I always thought that it was the sound of you drinking it that inspired the name, but I was probably way, way off.

Leave a Reply

