An Article

I read this article in the New York Times this morning. 

Fresh Start for a New Year? Let’s Begin in the Kitchen.

My first thought: Crap, I’m guilty of all these things except for canned peas (which I’ve always hated anyway) and Minute Rice (which I think is really overpriced compared to the rice we buy in bulk).

My second thought: This would be fine if I spent all day in the kitchen.

My third thought: Maybe it’s just me. 

So, let me know. What do you do on this list? Does anything sound reasonable to you because a lot of it sounds like a hassle to me?! Pass the bouillon cubes!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “An Article

  1. Heather

    of course if it were up to Mike, (the man who someday wants to make his own phyllo from scratch), we would do them all. However, since I am the one who does most of the grocery shopping, I will agree with some of the authors suggestions. Maple syrup is better! Fish sauce makes homemade stir fry taste more authentic. I have coconut milk in the pantry because Thai is my new favorite ethnic cuisine. And, although I do keep the green grated stuff, I LOVE shredded pec-romano! Keep up the good work. I love that my little sis is now domestic!

    • lauren2498

      I told you about the Thai recipe I tried shortly after we got home from the honeymoon right…It was a coconut basil chicken recipe and I had almost everything prepared and I’m happily in the kitchen thinking about how great of a new wife I am cooking dinner for my husband. The last step is to add the coconut milk to the hot wok. It slips out of my hand and all down the front of the stove, onto the floor andthe cat. Eric played the good husband and ran out to buy me more but it’s going to be quite awhile before I try Thai again!

  2. Almost everything that says “out” is IN in my kitchen (I’m with you on the canned vegies and Minute rice, however). If it’s frozen, bottled or freeze-dried and I can buy it at Trader Joe’s, then it’s in my kitchen!

    Fahgedabadit! New Yorkers have to go to the store everyday ’cause they travel on foot, by bus and subway. They don’t have huge car trunks to stash their groceries in.

    I’ve been cooking for over 35 years. Bring on those heavy cannned goods, bouillon cubes and bottled dressings!

  3. Kelli

    Someday I aspire to do almost everything on this list. For now, bulk dried beans, rice and other grains, fresh lemon, fresh herbs and spices, and a boat load of olive oil are about all I manage. The fact that there is a lemon tree outside my kitchen window that I can literally pick lemons from while staying inside the kitchen is a huge plus. I don’t think I will ever be on the fresh stock train, I love my bouillon paste!

    Overall I think the most important thing is to have all of the basics in your kitchen at all times so you can always whip up a meal without having to go to the store.

    • lauren2498

      I’m officially jealous of your lemon tree. I’d love to have an avocado tree at some point. You’re right about the basics, I feel like I’m just now getting to the point where I can find recipes to make without having to head out and by $40 with of spices and random ingredients. Hope to see you tonight!

Leave a Reply

