A Few Words

One of the blogs I frequent published this link. If you enter your blog URL and it pulls together all the most popular words. I love that the most common words on mine are “make time.”

words

(There’s also an odd combo of bathroom knitting, which just to put your fears at ease, I’ve never done.) 

Back to my point…it’s fitting that I played around with this link today, as the results really reflect on something I’ve been thinking about for a little while. I actually was considering it just last night while reading my latest library book, Little Heathens. My point is this: It’s up to us to make the most of our time. 

We all have a ton of time on our hands. Sure there’s stuff to do but last time I checked,  I didn’t have to spend 45 minutes on Facebook just to ensure that at the end of the day I had something to eat. I don’t have to spend an hour watching 24 or be at Old Navy just because they have a sale, but chances are, I’m going to. This philosophy has been a good reality check and reading about what really matters has been inspiring to me–now more than ever.

I really feel like we’ve all let ourselves get run down by politicians and the media when really, we should see the opportunity. I’m as guilty of this as anyone, whining because I chose not to spend $15 dollars to go to a wine bar with my friends. Instead, I get to go hiking with Eric, have chili at home and spend time cuddling with my kitten.

I realize there are thousands of people out there facing situations more dire than mine, so I know it’s easy for me to see a bit of a silver lining but I just feel confident knowing that if times get worse, we’re all in it together. And by that I don’t just mean Eric and I, or our families. I mean all of us. In the meantime, I feel really lucky that I get some extra time at home with my knitting, time to write and play Scrabble and make dinner with Eric. 

In case you’re looking for some inspirational reading, here are a few other books that always remind me how good I have it–and how good I can make it if I need to (listed in age-appropriate order):

The Ox-Cart Man

Little House on the Prairie 

Not Buying It

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

