A Roundup

Okay, I have had about 6 blog topics in my head and no time to write them so I’m going to rapid-fire a few things that I really want to share. Here goes:

Spago

It was amazing. We had spectacular food, great wine, a lovely waitress and an excuse for us to put on fancy clothes and head out together. We shared a shrimp and lobster risotto for our first course and I had scallops in a pad thai sauce for the second. Meanwhile, Eric stole the show with a pan roasted chicken stuffed with goat cheese and mushrooms. I love goat cheese so much that I’ve considered getting a goat just to keep myself in constant supply. Yum.

Even with two courses and wine, it still didn’t top our largest food total ever, which I’m too embarrassed to share in public. (Thank God my bosses treated me to that meal when I landed them a new account.) I was also too embarrassed to take out my camera and take photos of our food which, I realize, would have made this post much more interesting for all of you but I’m pretty sure E would have killed me.

January Sweater

I actually finished my first sweater of the year in January but haven’t been able to get a good photo of it. I’m sticking to my resolution! Last Monday, I had the day off and we went to LACMA. I asked Eric to take some photos of me outside. He took one and said it was great…I got this. (I can’t believe I’m actually posting this for all of you to see.)img_51441

At least you can see the detail on the sweater.

img_51442

Valentine’s Dinner

Because we went out to dinner Thursday, I decided to cook for us on Saturday. I made gnocchi. About halfway through making them, I decided it was going to be a disaster and started coming up with my back up plan (which, as you may have guessed, was pasta). They actually turned out well (presentation aside, as I realize they look a little weird). The leftovers we had on Sunday were even better.

img_5143 

I also made mini lava cakes out of my Better Homes and Garden Bridal Edition cookbook in the little ramekins Eric’s sister got us as a wedding gift (Thanks Michele!). They were amazing. I am totally proud of them. I tried to flip the first one over and scoop it out of the ramekin, it totally fell apart. So, we ate the rest out of the dish, and either way they were fantastic.

 

So, that’s about it really. Other than the first presell of Eric’s album, a new cookbook, our wedding photos arriving and a great concert we went to this week. (I told you I’ve been busy!) I’m back in action and plan to stay that way. Hope you all have a great weekend.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Roundup

  1. Kelli

    I was at LACMA too on Monday. I almost called you to see if you had the day off. Funny we were both there.

    Homemade gnocchi, yum! Will and I have done that several times and it is so great. Most recently we lightly pan seared them after boiling. It made them have a slight crispness that was delish.

  2. Ava

    Why do husbands always tell us the photo is fine? Dave will frequently take an “artsy” shot for me and I usually want to rip his head off. Seriously though, the sweater looks beautiful . . . and props for the homemade gnocchi! I’m a pour the bag into boiling water type myself.

  3. First…the wedding pictures arrived?! YAY!

    Your January sweater is so cute. I love the color and the cables.

  4. I’m so glad that your Dad didn’t have to go over and punch out the photographers for your wedding photos!!

    The purple sweater looks great! Congrats on 10 years together!

Leave a Reply

