A Failure and A Pick Me Up

img_5277

I am by no means a prolific cook. I don’t claim to be. I mess up a lot. But sometimes, it confuses the crap out of me.

For example, it is not hard to make soup. I’ve done it before! So, after Easter, when we had a bit of the ham bone left, I thought, I’ll freeze it and we’ll make a ham bean soup. I buy it from Campbells all the time…

Last week I decided to defrost the ham bone and give it a whirl. Seemed simple enough. Soak the beans overnight (or all day while I’m at work–This is the first time I’ve done that, I was shocked at how those little suckers puffed up.) So, I get home, add the beans, onion, ham bone and tomato into a pot per the directions. Simmer for two hours. Remove the ham bone. Simmer for two hours more.

I go to remove the bone and could barely breath. It smelled awful. I couldn’t bring myself to call it there. So, I decide, “maybe it’s just not done.” I keep cooking. another 2 hours go buy. I’m thinking, “this is gross.” Eric is refusing to come into the kitchen because he thinks it smells so bad.

So, instead of being the logical, reasonable person (who spent ~70 cents on this meal) and just get rid of it. I decide, to let it sit. So it sat. Until Friday, when I swore up and down I was going to eat it.

Friends. I do not know what happened to that little soup but it sucked. And I still can’t bring myself to throw it away.

I did however decide I needed a quick, yummy meal. So I made baked mac and cheese instead and served breaded eggplant on the side. Soo much better than my yucky, yucky soup.

img_5281

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Failure and A Pick Me Up

  1. Everyone experiences kitchen disasters once in awhile. My secret to homemade soup is to follow a recipe, then add a can of whatever flavor Campbell’s soup to the mix. I do the same thing with chili. There’s something about all that sodium-laced canned goodness that just perks up my homemade concoctions!

    Better luck next time!

  2. Chuck it out.
    Bad food happens. Who knows what went wrong. Sometimes when it seems like everything is going right it just tastes wrong. It’s learning experience.

    Plus macs n cheese trumps smelly ham bone soup every time. Yeah for macs n cheese!!!

Leave a Reply

