An Experament

The past two months at the Saturday SnB I’ve hit the Coffee Bean for a citrus muffin. They are so good I’ve been thinking about them most mornings on my way to work. Still, I’m not about to pay $2.75 a muffin even if it only is once a month. 

I did a little searching online and couldn’t find any great recipes for citrus muffins. Not wanting to wing it entirely I did a trial run using this recipe.

Sunburst Citrus MuffinsThe glaze is perfect but, the recipe calls for the juice of a lemon and an orange. The muffins were way to juicy. They didn’t rise well, I’m thinking my next batch will just use half an orange, more zest and some vanilla. I can’t wait.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “An Experament

  1. Ava

    Zest – or extract – usually does the trick without the added liquid. Sometimes the actual juice reacts poorly with whatever levening (can’t spell it right . . . grrr) agent you are using.

  2. Heather

    also check your baking powder, or soda? Sometimes I don’t realize how long it has been since I have purchased it and if older they might not work that well! Sounds yummy!!!! Might have to try those. Just another thing we have in common, our love of muffins.

  3. More zest, more zest!!! I put zest in all sorts of things, including many, many baked goods. Its especially good in blueberry muffins and pies. Just a little extra something to give it a very fresh taste.

Leave a Reply

