A Harvest

Fall is my absolute favorite season–it contains my favorite holiday (Thanskgiving), sport (football), coffee (pumpkin spice) and apparel (jeans and sweaters, tyvm).

I have to work a little harder for it here in SoCal, but I find it nonetheless. I watch lots of football and go hiking. Last weekend Eric and I took two long bike-rides and purposefully rode through the fallen leaves.

I love fall cooking and it does a lot to set the mood. Switching from salads to soups and seeing the produce turn to squashes and potatoes makes me incredibly happy. My favorite produce market recently switched over–no more walls of watermelon–and I’ve been cracking out the cookbook for some inspiration.

Roasted Spaghetti Squash

Roast Spaghetti Squash

I love spaghetti squash. Of course, I love pasta so it’s no surprise. I found a new recipe that calls for hollowing out the squash and mixing it with zucchini, basil, tomato sauce and parmesan. You then re-roast the squash. It was fantastic. 

RatatouileRatatouille

My mom made ratatouille earlier in this week and I was inspired. I already had an eggplant, onion, tomatoes and mushroom in the fridge so I just had to pick up a little more zucchini and a green pepper. I’ve never had ratatouille before but it was delicious and really warming. I made a 2-quart casserole and ate most of it myself this weekend, forcing myself to stop so that I’d have lunch tomorrow.

Stuffed PeppersStuffed Peppers

I love stuffed peppers–but if I’m being honest find them a lot of work for what you get so we don’t make them very often. It’s been at least two years since we’ve had them. Still, the red and yellow roasted peppers are delicious. Of the three, this was the best. We stuff them with rice, tomato and ground beef with just a little bit of cheese on the top. I always want more rice and Eric wanted more ground beef. Next time I’ll have to stuff them separately.

 

We’ve yet to make our annual chili and were talking about making sweet and sour meatballs and spare ribs soon. There’s lots more cooking to come. Fall has begun!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Harvest

  1. when’s dinner? Everything looks great!

  2. Ava

    I LOVE spaghetti squash (even plain with just a little parm. cheese is heaven).

  3. Mom

    Yummy inspiration!

    Meg loves spaghetti squash but I don’t make it often
    Think your dish could be a favorite!

Leave a Reply

