A Pendulum

I should have seen it coming…I was totally due for a kitchen disaster. Everything was going so well!

I really haven’t had one since Easter when I tried to make soup with the hambone. Who would have thought that once again, soup would be my demise? I always thought it was one of the easier food categories.

I digress.

Earlier this week, I saw a recipe for Mulligatawny stew on PinkofPerfection. For once, I had everything in my kitchen to make it and after a late night of wine and playing Wii with friends we had over, warm, yummy rice and this stew sounded perfect.

And perfect it was, until I put it in the blender. I blend all the time. Smoothies, margaritas, but never, never has the lid BLOWN OFF THE TOP like it did when I have a boiling hot soup in it!

All over me. All over the kitchen counter. All across our cabinets.

So what do I do? I think, oh shit, I must not have had the lid on tight and do it AGAIN. And the lid blows off AGAIN.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t try it a third time. Apparently I’m a glutton for punishment. I don’t know what the hell happened. Maybe the hot soup made a vaccum? Maybe our lid no longer holds a seal?

Either way, I decided to still eat the soup, just unpureed, which was fine but I don’t recommend it. I’m pretty sure my shirt is ruined and the poor car, who was never a fan of the blender in the first place, may never venture into the kitchen again.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Pendulum

  1. What? No pictures? I would have liked to have seen Muligatawany Stew-chunked wallpaper!

  2. Heather

    Hot + blender = danger!!! I have done that! After that Mike was kind enough to point out that our blender has a vent on the top to let out the steam!

  3. Barb (aka tobpa)

    And the tradition continues! I too have had a disaster with hot + blender..only it was with the homemade spaghetti sauce! And Grandma Esther heard her daughter spout words she had never heard! It gave me a giggle, but know how frustrating (and messy) the whole thing is!

  4. For Christmas put an immersion blender on your list. It’s the best for blending soups because you don’t have to transfer hot liquids to the blender. You still have to remember to let off the button before lifting while using, otherwise you get a little spray on you and surroundings, but it’s nothing compared to an exploding blender of hot soup. It has happened to me too. The immersion blender is awesome! There is less to clean up too. Bonus!

Leave a Reply

